The Mic Recommends...

With the first month of the new year finally over, February brings us a very satisfyingly uniformed calendar and plenty of new tracks. The Mic members share their takes on high adrenaline punk rock from NOFX, the muted indie simplicity of new Flyte, a foreboding EDM cut from Everyone You Know, and more.

‘Everything We Need’ – A Day To Remember

Though the Florida rockers are known for a blistering breakdown and heavy-hitting guitars, they are also no strangers to slowing the pace of action, and deliver heartfelt acoustics – and their latest single does just that. The track is stripped back, with an acoustic guitar complemented by gentle piano tones, allowing for frontman McKinnon’s vocals to take centre stage. With a huge anthemic chorus rivalling even that of fan favourite If It Means A Lot To You, Everything We Need is a hopeful celebration of having that one person besides your side, and not needing anything more than them, despite the challenges life may bring. Though the album’s first teaser single, Resentment, was released way back in 2019, it seems that the upcoming album You’re Welcome finally seems set for release in March. Louise Dugan

‘Kids On Whizz’ – Everyone You Know

As EDM duo Everyone You Know, half-brothers Ryan and Harvey Kirkby are championing a new and youthful brand of electronica documenting the goings-on of hinterland raving, small-town romance and drug subculture. A far cry from their home counties’ bedrooms, the pair have released a reworked version of their track Charlie in collaboration with Brazilian DJ Alok. The cut features an amped-up bassline which complements EYK’s fluid synth soundscape. Whilst this remix might be a touch too electronically distorted for some tastes, its overproduction means that the homegrown duo might find a new international audience through a frankly disturbing, but nevertheless enchanting music video. Fair warning though: if you’re missing clubs, even sub-par provincial ones, this won’t do anything but make your yearnings stronger. Joe Hughes

‘F*ck Euphemism’ – NOFX

The latest offering from the California punks follows their tried and tested formula: a searing barrage of guitar and deftly executed tongue-in-cheek exercise in wordplay. Frontman Fat Mike focuses on the hot topic of gender identity and self-expression. Similar to Punk in Drublic’s Don’t Call Me White, he fights to reclaim the right to self-identify and label himself as what he feels most comfortable with, rather than accepting what is forced by the perceptions of society. The latest track follows their collaboration with Avenged Sevenfold, in anticipation of their 14th LP release, set to be unleashed to the world very soon. F*ck Euphemism serves as a brash, emboldened reminder that punk is still not dead. Louise Dugan

‘Counting Down The List’ – Night Lovell

Synth beats drenched in darkness and a cold, sharp 808’s, the Canadian rapper’s latest single features tensely brooding lyricism: “Rollin’ in my grave, I still feel the pain, callin’ out my name.” A master in setting the mood, as his latest offering takes a slow, deliberate path through the darkness of a winter forest. Though the dark trap scene seems to have slipped away from the public eye since the infiltration of the likes of $uicideboy$ and Yung Lean into the mainstream, Night Lovell is continuing to work his dark magic. Louise Dugan

‘Under The Skin’ – Flyte

You know when someone describes a track as “cinematic”, and you listen to it, try your best to picture your perfect, coming-of-age movie film scene, and it doesn’t quite work? The word is passed around a lot when talking about music and frequently overused, but is possibly the only way to describe Flyte’s new single, Under The Skin. With an opening of piano and floor drums, combined with lead singer Will Taylor’s whispery vocals from the start, the entire track is just one huge build-up. This is often a cliche of many indie-folk bands, to open with a simple keys intro and slowly build, Arcade Fire Suburbs-era-style (not at all a dig at Arcade Fire, but we have to admit many musicians jumped on that bandwagon and rode it all the way to their first record signings). However, it really works for Flyte, and anticipates hugely for This Is Really Going To Hurt, their second EP, coming out in April. Under The Skin’s final minute creates an almost overwhelming surrounding atmosphere, with loud echoes, borderline shout-singing and increasingly aggressively played keyboard. The track is a callout for all those nearly in love, caught in the agony of unrequited love, or on the edge of accepting life-changing news. The brutally honest beg for love in Under The Skin is thoroughly self-affirming; perfect for anyone who needs a genuine and legitimate confidence boost, or just if you want to feel cinematic on their lockdown walk to Tesco Express. For fans of Grizzly Bear, Dr Dog, and all who very understandably worship early 2010’s folk-indie (you’re not alone). Rebecca Hyde

Edited by: Louise Dugan

Featured image courtesy of Flyte via Facebook.